Revolutionary Road

16 06 2009

RevolutionaryRoad

Revolutionary-road

I’m currently reading Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates.

Yes, I picked this book up to read BEFORE I watched the movie.  Kill me!  lol.  Well, I wasn’t expecting much to be honest.  I was expecting a rather dry, out-dated read on American life in a time before I was born.  Well, it is so much more than that.  It is out-dated (but shockingly current), and it is about American life before I was born.  But it is FAR from dry.  Now I feel that I will be disappointed when watching the movie, but I hope not!

Some of my favorite bits:

Frank reflecting on his life,

“Nowhere in these plans had he forseen the weight and shock of reality; nothing had warned him that he might be overwhelmed by the swaying, shining vision of a girl he hadn’t seen in years, a girl whose every glance and gesture could make his throat fill up with longing (“Wouldn’t you like to be loved by me?”), and that then before his very eyes, she would dissolve and change into the graceless, suffering creature whose existence he tried every day of his life to deny but whom he knew as well and as painfully as he knew himself, a gaunt constricted woman whose red eyes flashed reproach, whose false smile in curtain call was as homely as his own sore feet, his own damp climbing underwear and his own sour smell.”

I read this and I couldn’t help but wonder if this is how my man feels about me now…

___

April Wheeler: “So now I’m crazy because I don’t love you, right?  Is that the point?

Frank Wheeler: “No! Wrong!  You’re not crazy, and you do love me.  That’s the point, April.”

April Wheeler: “But I don’t.  I hate you.  You were just some boy who made me laugh at a party once, and now I loathe the sight of you.  In fact, if you come any closer, if you touch me or anything, I think I’ll scream!”

I think couples have always had the problems they to today, divorce is just more “available” now.

___

John Givings: “Hopeless emptiness.  Now you’ve said it.  Plenty of people are onto the emptiness, but it takes real guts to see the hopelessness.”

Sad.

___

John Givings: “You want to play house you got to have a job.  You want to play nice house, very sweet house, you got to have a job you don’t like.”

Don’t we all feel like this?

___

April Wheeler: It takes backbone to lead the life you want, Frank.

I found this criticism very inspiring actually, is that strange?

___

On the main character, Frank Wheeler, reminiscing on his boyhood ideas to run away and start a new life,

“In Europe, of course.  The only place worth living in.”

This one made me think the most.  Do you think that’s true?  I find it strange for an American to say something like that, being so patriotic and all.  Is Frank Wheeler right?  Is Europe the only place worth living in in this world?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

